Gilbert Awards - General Information

Printer-friendly version



Thank you to all the applicants. FCA will be notifying winners at the end of December.


View the Gilbert Legacy Award scrapbook here

The digital scrapbook devotes one page to each winner of the Gilbert Legacy Award
with multiple images, videos, hyperlinks, and a linked table of contents.


General Information

With continuing support from The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation, Family Caregiver Alliance (FCA) is pleased to oversee the annual Rosalinde Gilbert Innovations in Alzheimer's Disease Caregiving Legacy Awards program.

Award Background

In the recent past, The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation undertook a review of issues facing caregivers of adults with Alzheimer's disease. In June 2007, the Foundation published an expert panel discussion report, Strengthening Caregiving for Alzheimer's Disease, which outlined promising practices, research recommendations, and key principles for caregiver support. It is against this backdrop that The Rosalinde Gilbert Innovations in Alzheimer's Disease Caregiving Legacy Award Program was initiated. The program promotes those principles and stimulates innovation in the field of Alzheimer's disease caregiving by recognizing and rewarding those efforts which lead the way in addressing the needs of Alzheimer's caregivers. The year 2015 marks the eighth year of this award program.

Past Award Recipients

Digital scrapbook of all Gilbert Legacy Award winners (updated 8/15)

Award Details

One award of $20,000 will be given in each of the following three categories:

  • Creative Expression: This award will go to programs or projects that use imaginative and creative approaches in supporting persons with dementia or family / informal caregivers of persons with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias. Some examples are programs or projects using art, music, theatre, journaling, multimedia (e.g. film, documentary, radio) or other types of creative expression.

  • Diverse / Multicultural Communities: This award will go to programs or projects that provide services, support or other types of outreach to family / informal caregivers of persons with Alzheimer's disease or related dementias in diverse ethnic, age diversity, religion / spirituality, gender, rural, low income, and LGBT or other communities.

  • Policy and Advocacy: This award will go to programs or projects that advocate for systems change for the benefit of family / informal caregivers or care recipients with Alzheimer's disease or related dementias. These efforts could focus on legislation, executive or administrative changes, advocacy campaigns, or any other action to strengthen the public or private sector's recognition and support of family / informal caregivers.

Award Timeline

Applications are available online only. The final closing deadline for 2015 applications has now been extended to Friday, October 9, 2015, 5 p.m. (Pacific Time). Award recipients will be honored at the 2016 Annual Conference of the American Society on Aging (ASA). Participants will be invited to present information about their awarded program or project at the conference. Travel stipends will be available for the conference.

Eligibility and Submission Conditions

  • Not for profit organizations, government agencies, and universities addressing a community need with a program or project that focuses primarily on family / informal caregivers of adults with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias are eligible to apply. Note: Family / informal caregivers are unpaid caregivers. The term includes family members, friends, domestic partners, and neighbors.
  • Support for family / informal caregivers need not be the primary mission of the organization, agency, or university. For example: past winners include a library, songwriting organization, and pubic advocacy group.
  • Only agencies operating within the continental United States and Hawaii are eligible to apply.
    • Nonprofit applicants must submit proof of their 501(c)(3) status or other nonprofit status.
    • The nominated program or project has to have been active during the calendar year of 2014 and / or 2015. If the program or project involves a major culminating event, that event must have occurred prior to application deadline.
  • For the Policy and Advocacy and Creative Expression categories, program or project may be related to either family / informal caregivers or persons with dementia or both.
  • For the Diversity / Multicultural Communities category, program / project must be specific to family / informal caregivers of persons with Alzheimer's disease or related dementias.
  • The applicant or other designated program or project representatives must be willing to share information about their program with others, including a presentation at a national professional conference, and to write up additional information to appear on FCA's website and / or future publications. Award recipients may also be asked to provide information about how the award was used to further advance the mission of the organization, agency, or university.
  • Applicants must apply electronically using the designated online system.
  • Applicants must designate the category in which they would like to be considered. Applicants are competing only against others within their chosen category. If the judges feel that the applicant would be better suited for another category, they will contact the applicant directly.

Review Process

Applicants should follow the online application instructions in preparing a succinct description of their submitted program or project. Finalists may be contacted to provide additional information or materials. Expert judges will objectively assess and score applications. Final recommendations will be made to The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation.

Gilbert Awards — Frequently Asked Questions

For assistance with your application, please review the FAQ page first.


Requirements may be adjusted to compensate for unforeseeable circumstances upon a showing of good cause. Adjustment is subject to the discretion of FCA and/or the funding organization.

The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation

The mission of The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation is to invest in programs that promote education, tolerance, social services, healthcare, and the arts. The Foundation builds on the ideals and pursuits of its founders, Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert. In addition, The foundation funds Arts Education and Culture in Los Angeles, Jewish programs in Los Angeles, and universities in California. In the area of Alzheimer's disease, The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation focuses its grant-making on the advancement of research by junior investigators in the United States and Israel and investments in Alzheimer's disease caregiving.
Click here for more information.

Family Caregiver Alliance

Established in 1977, the Family Caregiver Alliance (FCA) supports and assists caregivers through education, services, research, and advocacy. FCA programs support and sustain the important work of families and friends caring for loved ones with chronic, disabling health conditions. The National Center on Caregiving, established at FCA in 2001, is working to advance the development of high quality cost-effective policies and programs for caregivers in every state of the country.
Click here or call (800) 445-8106 for more information.