FCA logo

National Resources for Family Caregivers

Family caregivers can use this handy listing of national organizations to help locate information and support on topics and issues important to them.

For state-specific information, please see the Family Caregiver Services by State map and guide.

Caregiver/Older Adults

Family Caregiver Alliance – https:// www.caregiver.org

AARP Resources for Caregivers – https://www.aarp.org/caregiving/

American Seniors Housing Association (ASHA) – https://www.whereyoulivematters.org/

ARCH National Respite Network – https://archrespite.org/respitelocator

Benefits Checkup – https://benefitscheckup.org/

Caregiver Action Network – https://www.caregiveraction.org/

CCAL-Advancing Person-Centered Living – https://ccal.org/about-ccal/

Diverse Elders Coalition – https://diverseelders.org/

Eldercare Locator – Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) – https://eldercare.acl.gov/

LeadingAge – https://leadingage.org/

Leeza’s Place – http://www.leezasplace.org/

Lotsa Helping Hands – https://lotsahelpinghands.com/

Meals on Wheels Association of America (MOWAA) – https://www.mealsonwheelsamerica.org/find-meals

National Adult Day Services Association (NADSA) – https://www.nadsa.org/for-caregivers/consumers/

National Alliance for Caregiving (NAC) – https://www.caregiving.org/

National Center on Elder Abuse – https://ncea.acl.gov/

National Center on Senior Transportation – https://www.nadtc.org/aging-and-disability-transportation-overview/

National Long-Term Care Ombudsman Resource Center – https://ltcombudsman.org/

Need Help Paying Bills – https://www.needhelppayingbills.com/

NeedyMeds – http://www.needymeds.org

Paying for Senior Care – https://www.payingforseniorcare.com/

Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) (help for people with Medicare who has quality of care concerns and complaints)– https://qioprogram.org/locate-your-qio

Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving (RCI) – http://www.rosalynncarter.org/home/

Shepherd’s Centers of America – https://www.shepherdcenters.org/

The National Consumer Voice for Quality Long-Term Care (formerly NCCNHR) – https://theconsumervoice.org/

Well Spouse Association – https://wellspouse.org/

Faith Based Organizations

Association of Jewish Family and Childrens Agencies – Agency Locator – http://www.ajfca.org/

Catholic Charities – https://www.catholiccharitiesusa.org/

Lutheran Services in America – https://lutheranservices.org/older-adults/

National Volunteer Caregiving Network (Faith In Action) – https://nvcnetwork.org/wp/

Network of Jewish Human Service Agencies – https://www.networkjhsa.org/agency-locator/

Government Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov – https://clinicaltrials.gov/

Disability.gov – https://www.dol.gov/agencies/odep/topics

Healthfinder.gov – https://health.gov/myhealthfinder

LongTermCare.gov – https://acl.gov/ltc

Medicare.gov – Nursing Home Compare – https://www.medicare.gov/care-compare/?providerType=NursingHome&redirect=true

MedlinePlus – Go Local – https://medlineplus.gov/

Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) – https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/disability/

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) – https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/ssi/

Medicare Rights Center – https://www.medicarerights.org/

US Dept of Labor – Family and Medical Leave – https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla

Health Organizations

ALS Association – https://www.als.org/

Alzheimer’s Association – https://www.alz.org/

Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral (ADEAR) Center – Alzheimer’s Disease Clinical Trials Database – http://www.nia.nih.gov/Alzheimers

Alzheimer’s Foundation of America – https://alzfdn.org/

Alzheimer Research Forum – http://www.alzforum.org

American Brain Tumor Association – https://www.abta.org/

American Cancer Society – https://www.cancer.org/

American Chronic Pain Association – https://www.theacpa.org/

American Diabetes Association – https://www.diabetes.org/

American Heart Association – https://www.heart.org/

American Kidney Fund – https://www.kidneyfund.org/

American Pain Foundation – https://uspainfoundation.org/

American Parkinson’s Disease Association (APDA) – https://www.apdaparkinson.org/

American Stroke Association – https://www.stroke.org/

Arthritis Foundation – https://www.arthritis.org/

Association for Frontotemporal Dementias (AFTD) – https://www.theaftd.org/

Brain Injury Association of America – https://www.biausa.org/

Brain Injury Resource Center – http://www.headinjury.com/

Brain Talk Communities – https://www.braintalkcommunities.org/

BrainLine – https://www.brainline.org/

Cancer Support Community – https://www.cancersupportcommunity.org/

Defeat Diabetes Foundation (Support Groups) – https://defeatdiabetes.org/get-healthy/diabetes-support-groups/

Healing Exchange BRAIN TRUST (Support Groups) – https://braintrust.org/

Huntington’s Disease Advocacy Center – http://www.hdac.org

Huntington’s Disease Society of America – https://hdsa.org/

Huntington’s Disease Support Information – http://huntingtondisease.tripod.com/statebystatesupport/

Hydrocephalus Association – https://www.hydroassoc.org/

Leukemia and Lymphoma Society – https://www.lls.org/

Lewy Body Dementia Association, Inc. (LBDA) – https://www.lbda.org/

MedHelp.org – https://www.medhelp.org/

Multiple Sclerosis Foundation – https://msfocus.org/

National Brain Tumor Foundation – https://www.braintumorfoundation.org/

National Brain Tumor Society National – https://braintumor.org/

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse – https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes

National Kidney Foundation – https://www.kidney.org/

National Multiple Sclerosis Society – https://www.nationalmssociety.org/

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) – https://rarediseases.org/

Needy Meds – https://www.needymeds.org/

Parkinson’s Disease Foundation – https://www.parkinson.org/

Patient Advocate Foundation – https://www.patientadvocate.org/

Legal Assistance

American Bar Association (ABA) – Commission on Law and Aging – https://www.americanbar.org/groups/law_aging/

LawHelp.org – https://www.lawhelp.org/

Legal Services Corporation (LSC) ( Legal aid) – https://www.lsc.gov/

National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) – https://www.naela.org/findlawyer

National Center on Law and Elder Rights – https://ncler.acl.gov/

WorkLife Law (WLL) – https://worklifelaw.org/get-help/what-is-frd/

Palliative/Hospice

Aging with Dignity (End of Life Planning) – https://agingwithdignity.org/

Hospice Foundation of America – https://hospicefoundation.org/

National Association for Home Care and Hospice (NAHC) – https://agencylocator.nahc.org/

Veterans Resources

National Association of County Veteran Service Officers (NACVSO) – https://www.nacvso.org/

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and Caregiver Hotline for Post – 9/11 – https://www.va.gov/family-member-benefits/comprehensive-assistance-for-family-caregivers/

VA – Directory of Veterans Service Organizations – https://www.va.gov/vso/