FCA logo

Three Outstanding Programs in Alzheimer’s Caregiving Honored at AiA17 Conference

Family Caregiver Alliance Executive Director Kathleen Kelly and The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation Co-Director and COO Martin H. Blank, Jr., were honored to present the 2016 Rosalinde Gilbert Innovations in Alzheimer’s Disease Caregiving Legacy Awards last week at a reception at the Aging in America (AiA17) conference in Chicago.

For the ninth year, FCA and The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation have presented the annual awards in three categories: Creative Expression, Diverse/Multicultural Communities, and Policy and Advocacy. Winners attend a celebratory dinner and present their programs and accomplishments at a reception in the company of colleagues and friends.

The 2016 awardees (pictured with Martin H. Blank, Jr. and Kathy Kelly) and their programs follow:

Debra L. Cherry,  Ph.D.

Alzheimer’s Greater Los Angeles

Los Angeles, California

Program: Dementia Cal MediConnect Project

Karen Leekity

Pueblo of ZuniZuni Elderly Services

Zuni, New Mexico

Program: Zuni Adult Day Care

Elizabeth “Like” Lokon

Scripps Gerontology Center, Miami University

Oxford, Ohio
Program: Opening Minds through Art (OMA)

Detailed information about each program is available on FCA’s website here.

Information on past winners is available by viewing the online Gilbert Caregiving Legacy Awards scrapbook.

The following photos are from the dinner and awards reception —

Erika Lewis (guest) and Debra Cherry (Alzheimer’s Greater LA)Debra Cherry (Alzheimer’s Greater LA) and

Martin Blank
Like Lokon (Scripps Gerontology Center), Brad Simcock (guest), and Rajiv Mehta (FCA board member)

Dinner with the awardees and their guests


Karen Leekity (Zuni Elderly Services) and Leah Eskenazi (FCA Operations Manager)Like Lokon, Martin and Linda Blank

The crowdLike Lokon (second from the left) and supporters
Bill Keane and Debra CherryBuffet table
Kathy Kelly (FCA Executive Director) and Rita Choula (AARP Public Policy Institute Senior Advisor)Rajiv Mehta, Karen Leekity, and Erika Lewis